East Anglia

This page shows how East Anglia is ranked for the following 5 ‘composite’ measures of social mobility:

  • Childhood poverty and disadvantage
  • Precarious situations
  • Promising prospects
  • Research and development
  • Socio-cultural advantage

Each of these measures combines data from 3 indicators into a single ‘composite’ score. This provides a more reliable picture of geographical mobility patterns.


For each composite measure, 41 regions in the UK are ranked from the lowest to highest values. They are then divided into 5 equally-sized groups (‘quintiles’), from 1 (lowest) to 5 (highest).

For example, East Anglia ranks in the of regions for .


Quintile 1
(lowest 20%)
Quintile 5
(highest 20%)

Districts in the East Anglia region

ITL3 areas: Norwich and East Norfolk, North and West Norfolk, Breckland and South Norfolk, Peterborough, Suffolk CC, Cambridgeshire CC

Local authorities: Peterborough, Cambridge, East Cambridgeshire, Fenland, Huntingdonshire, South Cambridgeshire, Babergh, Ipswich, Mid Suffolk, East Suffolk, West Suffolk, Broadland, Great Yarmouth, Norwich, King’s Lynn and West Norfolk, North Norfolk, Breckland, South Norfolk