Highlands and Islands

This page shows how Highlands and Islands is ranked for the following 5 ‘composite’ measures of social mobility:

  • Childhood poverty and disadvantage
  • Precarious situations
  • Promising prospects
  • Research and development
  • Socio-cultural advantage

Each of these measures combines data from 3 indicators into a single ‘composite’ score. This provides a more reliable picture of geographical mobility patterns.


For each composite measure, 41 regions in the UK are ranked from the lowest to highest values. They are then divided into 5 equally-sized groups (‘quintiles’), from 1 (lowest) to 5 (highest).

For example, Highlands and Islands ranks in the of regions for .


Quintile 1
(lowest 20%)
Quintile 5
(highest 20%)

Districts in the Highlands and Islands region

ITL3 areas: Caithness and Sutherland, and Ross and Cromarty, Inverness and Nairn, Moray, and Badenoch and Strathspey, Lochaber, Skye and Lochalsh, Arran and Cumbrae, and Argyll and Bute, Na h-Eileanan Siar, Orkney Islands, Shetland Islands

Local authorities: Ross and Cromarty, Caithness and Sutherland, Inverness and Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey, West Moray, North East Moray, Arran and Cumbrae, Argyll and Bute Islands, Argyll and Bute Mainland, Lochaber, Skye and Lochalsh, Na h-Eileanan Siar, Orkney Islands, Shetland Islands