West Central Scotland

This page shows how West Central Scotland is ranked for the following 5 ‘composite’ measures of social mobility:

  • Childhood poverty and disadvantage
  • Precarious situations
  • Promising prospects
  • Research and development
  • Socio-cultural advantage

Each of these measures combines data from 3 indicators into a single ‘composite’ score. This provides a more reliable picture of geographical mobility patterns.


For each composite measure, 41 regions in the UK are ranked from the lowest to highest values. They are then divided into 5 equally-sized groups (‘quintiles’), from 1 (lowest) to 5 (highest).

For example, West Central Scotland ranks in the of regions for .


Quintile 1
(lowest 20%)
Quintile 5
(highest 20%)

Districts in the West Central Scotland region

ITL3 areas: East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire and Helensburgh and Lomond, Glasgow City, Inverclyde, East Renfrewshire, and Renfrewshire, North Lanarkshire

Local authorities: Helensburgh and Lomond, West Dunbartonshire, East Dunbartonshire, Glasgow City, East Renfrewshire, Renfrewshire, Inverclyde, North Lanarkshire